It’s time to nominate staff from your school for their great work!

When South Tyneside teaching assistant Suzanne Blackburn won the Inspirational Staff Award, she felt “completely overwhelmed”.

Nominated by pupils at St Matthew’s Catholic Primary school in Jarrow, she won the award last year for going above and beyond the expectations of her role, supporting the learning and development of children at the school, which is part of Bishop Chadwick Catholic Education Trust.

The Chadwick Celebration Awards are a way for the Trust to celebrate their employees’ work across their 30 primary and secondary schools and nominations have opened for this year’s accolades.

One of the Trust’s values is celebration and we want to celebrate all our staff across the Trust who go that extra mile,” said Brendan Tapping, CEO of BCCET.”

“There are 16 categories this year and, as last year, only pupils can nominate in the Inspirational Staff Award category. We would like you to think about all the staff at your school – the headteacher and teachers, the teaching assistants, the office staff, the kitchen staff, caretaking team, and nominate who you think has done a really good job.

This year, there are 16 awards categories for staff to enter including the new Everyday Hero award.

Nominations should be a minimum of 50 words and a maximum of 200 words and can be found at

Nominations for the Inspirational Staff Member Award, which is nominated by pupils, is on a separate nomination form at

The closing date for nominations is 27 March 2023. Finalists will be notified in May and the winners will be announced on 14th July 2023.

The other awards categories are: Gospel Values, SCITT/Teach First Trainee of the Year, Mentor of the Year, New Teacher of the Year, Staff Member of the Year (Support Staff/Central Services), Staff Member of the Year (Classroom Based), Partnership & Engagement Award, Governance Award, Leadership & Management Award (Education), Leadership & Management Award (Support/Central Services), Teacher of the Year (Secondary), Teacher of the Year (Primary), Team of the Year, Achievement Award.

Visit the Trust’s website for more information.

Download the full Press Release here.