Most Catholics think of St Peter’s as the Pope’s main church, but they are not quite right. St John Lateran is the Pope’s church, the cathedral of the Diocese of Rome where the Bishop of Rome presides. 

The first basilica on the site was built in the fourth century when the Roman Emperor Constantine donated land he had received from the wealthy Lateran family. That structure and its successors suffered fire, earthquake and the ravages of war, but the Lateran remained the church where popes were consecrated until the popes returned from Avignon in the 14th century to find the church and the adjoining palace in ruins. 

Pope Innocent X commissioned the present structure in 1646. One of Rome’s most imposing churches, the Lateran’s towering facade is crowned with 15 colossal statues of Christ, John the Baptist, John the Evangelist and 12 doctors of the Church. Beneath its high altar rest the remains of the small wooden table on which tradition holds St Peter himself celebrated Mass. 

Image Details

The Basilica of St John Lateran

Upcoming Catholic Feast Days